Brown Bazooka


The League, on FX, Surprises

The League on FX is a surprisingly funny and relevant show that reaches out to not just those of us into fantasy football, but our girlfriends, too. Yes, we have girlfriends.

Being an avid fantasy sports athlete, I was intrigued by the development of FX’s The League – a show based on a group of guys and their fantasy football league.
I’m not saying this is going to be a great show, but the first episode was pretty good. I’m currently running 8 or 9 fantasy football teams myself, along with a couple of hockey (I had 8 or 9 baseball, which is insanely involving) it was nice to see that the people writing the show really know what they’re talking about.

But, you don’t have to play fantasy football, or know fantasy football to enjoy the show. Consider this – I had told my girlfriend, who thinks my fantasy football affair is stupid, that FX was putting out a show about a group of guys and their league. She couldn’t believe it and rolled her eyes.

I couldn’t believe it when I saw the first spot for it either. It premiered up against the World Series (I think) and that’s what I was watching in the living room. My girlfriend was in the bedroom watching TV and she called out to me, “That fantasy football show is on and it’s funny!”

We were even in an argument at the time and not speaking to each other. So, The League has to be pretty good if she’s going to take a timeout from our argument to tell me that a show about fantasy football is not only on, but that it’s funny.

And, it was. It was funny and I’ll be more than happy to watch it again. The League is on FX every Thursday at 10:30 pm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

