Brown Bazooka


The Problem with Ambulance Bills and Health Care Reform
October 29, 2009, 2:55 pm
Filed under: Political | Tags: , , ,

I always figured that ambulance bills were extremely high.

I remember years ago when I called an ambulance for my mother (who had insurance) and her 3 mile journey to the hospital cost $300 – covered by her insurance plan, of course. To me, that was rather expensive. I’d describe it as “reasonably expensive.”

So, as I sit here listening to Nancy Pelosi talk about the Dems new health care reform plan, my elbow rests on an ambulance bill for my father. He was recently transported from one hospital to another with a broken hip. It was a five hour drive over 251 miles.

The cost? $7299.50

Ridiculous? Yes.

Essentially, to me, this is where a major part of the problem rests. My father is a veteran and so this bill was picked up by the government. That’s fantastic, really – a great thing for all veterans.

The problem though, is with me. I was angered by the $7299 bill, but when I just called to tell the ambulance company to send the bill to the VA, they happily obliged – and that was that. So, I don’t really care too much about the bill anymore because it’s taken care of.

I think the same idea holds true when it comes to insurance. As long as people’s co-pays aren’t extreme, and their deductibles remain at the same rates, who is going to complain about the outrageous costs of things like ambulance rides or CT Scans?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

